Thoughts for Tuesday: The Project

24 06 2008

All,

Part of…the project…involves gathering as much information about as many black-owned businesses (they do not have to be black operated, just black owned) as humanly possible in the shortest reasonable time I can muster. Since several thousand people view this site everyday, I figured I’d take advantage of it.

Therefore, I’m asking all of you good-humored folks for your help. No matter where you are or where in the country the business is, please send the following information about those businesses to stuffblackpeoplehate@gmail.com:

  • The name of the business (required)
  • The type of business (required)
  • Web address (optional)
  • The address of the business, or general location if it’s not a brick and mortar biz (required)
  • Some kind of contact info (phone number, email address) (required)
  • Any other information you might have (optional). This could include the date of founding, the name of the owner(s), business hours, or anything else you can think of that might seem relevant

None of this information, nor your own email addresses, will be used for spamming, junk mail lists, or any other bullshit in that vein. You have my word.

Remember, these don’t have to be brick and mortar operations. ‘Businesses’ can include any of the following and then some:

Freelance writers, banks, barber shops, beauty salons, web designers, real estate agents/brokers, mortgage bankers/brokers, restaurants, auto repair shops, marketing/accounting/law/engineering/architecture/construction firms, insurance companies, liquor stores, grocery stores, convenience stores, graphic designers, farms (yes, farms), electronics stores, black-owned franchises, import/exporters, clothing companies, research labs, doctors, dentists, entertainers, psychologists, auditing firms, IT services companies, landscaping businesses, communications and PR, radio stations, publishing houses, caterers, consulting firms and independent consultants, tax professionals, manufacturing, child care services, truckers, etc. etc. etc.

Make your contribution to…the project…today. Dammit.

-Chris

Actions

Information

105 responses

24 06 2008
willnotbetelevised

Shit I’m trying to get my home bakery in business. I’m black you want my info? I aint liscenced or anything but i make a mean pound cake and a banging lemon meringue pie.

24 06 2008
Angry IV

Pound cake or yellow cake?

24 06 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

If it’s a business, and you can deliver, send me your info.

24 06 2008
Kortni Ayo

Chris…
In St. Louis, MO this is the Black Pages Directory: http://blackpages.dirxion.com/Main.asp

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

OOO pound cake…yum…I have a small dog sitting business out my home does that count lol

24 06 2008
Kortni Ayo

http://www.bayocstudio.com
Cbabi Bayoc did the cover. He’s super dope.

24 06 2008
stuffgirlslike

So you are going to spam black businesses? That is your project?

http://stuffgirlslike.wordpress.com

24 06 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

To all the smartasses: Contribute, or STFU.

24 06 2008
Sister Toldja

SAY PLEASE!

24 06 2008
Sister Toldja

Btw- it’s only minutes before people start with the “You know…I don’t really support Black buisnesses. They are ineffiecent/ghetto/never open on time/slow.” Which can be translated to “I don’t try to make life for Black people better, I just like complaining”

24 06 2008
imaG

I have an internet business in the making….I’ll send some info soon

http://www.anythingblack.net

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

I contributed just now…

24 06 2008
chineseambassador

this is great. I just hope you’re not including all the Amway/Mary Kay people in your directory. lol

24 06 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

Mary Kay chicks enrage me, but they’re eligible anyway 😛

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

Mary Kay ladies stay tryna recruit me to their cult. NO!!!!! But I would love to have the pearl pink white lexus…

24 06 2008
Sister Toldja

What about Pre-Paid Legal? Or any other company that starts it’s spiel with “Imagine if you had gotten in on the groundfloor when Yahoo or Google took off….”

The best Black buisnesses around my way include the weed man (he brought nickles back, yeah), the bootleg cd/dvd STORE (they sell nothing else), the watermelon school bus and the “beeaaaaaaan pieeeeee” man.

24 06 2008
willnotbetelevised

Pound cake, of many different flavors. Pumpkin roll Pies: lemon meringue, cherry, sweet potato, pumpkin, mincemeat, apple, cheescakes. Working on raspberry pie, key lime and bagels. Only pound cakes and cheesecakes can I send via mail currently. So others, have to be local to Brick City. I’ll send my info chris

24 06 2008
Sylph

Done.

.

24 06 2008
Darcia00

Contributed my current place of employment.

24 06 2008
anaylli

Just sent you two businesses…

24 06 2008
maya

“The best Black buisnesses around my way include the weed man (he brought nickles back, yeah), the bootleg cd/dvd STORE (they sell nothing else), the watermelon school bus and the “beeaaaaaaan pieeeeee” man.”

“To all the smartasses: Contribute, or STFU.”

Y’all lucky my last day is tomorrow. I AM CRACKING UP. What the hell is a watermelon school bus??? YES TO BEAN PIES. SALAAM!

24 06 2008

What if it is not put together before you finish your project…..noooooooooooooo
::hustles::

24 06 2008
Avana

Here is a black owned business. It is my cousin’s salon. I hope that this counts she has worked really hard to acheive this type of upscale salon. Her first parlor was in the “hood” and she learned a lesson. Second time is a charm.
Owner: India McMillion
Name of Business: Lash Out
Type of Business: Fullservice Beauty Salon specializing in the Eyelash Extension technique
Address: 31 Halsey Street
Newark, NJ
Phone: 973-622-0444
Business hours:Closed Sunday and Monday Tuesday through Saturday 10am-5pm
Services: Hair styling,eyelash extensions,eye brow threading(by an East Indian woman), and massage
Here is a link to a feature piece done on the salon: http://media.www.rutgersobserver.com/media/storage/paper822/news/2007/11/13/PageOne/lash-Out.A.Big.Hit-3094923.shtml

24 06 2008

The name of the business: Lil red pill
The type of business: Pharmaceutical Sales
The address of the business: 454 the block
Some kind of contact info: lilregandem@myspace.com
Since 1993

24 06 2008
benjie

yeah,
i have a few. but one or two of them are up and coming.

chris-
non profit organizations count?

24 06 2008
AC

I don’t own a business (yet) and don’t know of any specific black-owned ones (yet) but good luck nonetheless with your…project…Chris!

24 06 2008
Avana

Not sure if you need my info as well.If you contact my cousin tell her it was her cousin RaRa.

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

umm ya’ll cant read he said e-mail it to him hahah

24 06 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

Really good response coming in so far, guys. Keep it up.

Please please please email your responses, though – I swear on my mother’s life I will not spam you.

24 06 2008
Muse

Chris you are truly awesome for this. I’m not sure what your project is about but I’m impressed with what you are doing so far. Keep up the great work! You should receive an email from me in a few.

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

There is a black diamond broker that goes to my church. So far the only thing on the internet I can find is the company name. I am Googling like crazy though

24 06 2008
vitazza

Surf’s Up Body Shop
Baltimore,Maryland 21215

24 06 2008
Sister Toldja

Avana- Yo!!!!! I used to pass Lash Out in Newark. Are the prices good?

WNBT- Send me a cake dammit!

24 06 2008
maya

I feel all warm inside helpin’ the community.

Chris, I must say, you are lookin’ real good to me right now with all this racial uplift.

24 06 2008
vitazza

Koffee Therapy
Baltimore, Md 21202
coffee shop/cafe/catering

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

Wow, I found it. I swear if I put that much energy into my schoolwork I would have my BA by now, lol

24 06 2008
Avana

Sista Toldjah I believe that my cuz did make the prices a little steeper because of the location and the clientale. When I used to work for her at the other shop, Flawless Creations on South Orange Ave, lawdy lawdy girls did not want to pay $120 for a good sew in. Do you have natural hair? If so, see Tiffany at Lash Out, she gave me a good blow out many a times and she actually reads so she is not superficial like the many other beauticians.

24 06 2008
vitazza

Doll House Boutigue
Baltimore, Md 21202

all my posts can be googled and are AA owned in Baltimore, MD
Thanks and good lookin out

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

Funny I lived in Newark for 3 years and never saw an eyelash place until I moved to Philly. I would love to try it, but don’t think it makes sense if I wear glasses 24/7.

24 06 2008
Avana

@Jeromesmom it’s funny because I went to school in Philly and I think that most make up on the girls was pretty ummm how you say “tacky,gaudy, draggish” I wouldn’t let one of them girls touch a thing onmy face. Now I understand Eve’s steez.

24 06 2008
Muse

Maya I have to cosign. There is nothing sexier than a man who wants to uplift his people in a non-Jesse Jackson/ Al Sharp ton sort of way. LOL.

I hope Michelle keep all the hookers and Beckys away from President Obama.

God I love that man.

24 06 2008
benjie

hey now….

not all chicks in philly have tacky makeup.
just some.
okay maybe most.

but not me dammit.

lol

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

I don’t wear make up but thought the eyelashes would be cute. Definitely never saw that type of stuff in North Jersey.

24 06 2008
Omar

Are including fake CEOs?

UUGHH, I guess we are obligated to help them become real CEOs.

24 06 2008
Avana

@Benjie Do you feel as though Philly can be pretty closeminded on things such as fashion and politics? My professor took a poll in my textile and fabric class to ask how many people had been to New York and I swear to you only two of teh Philly girls raised their hands. It’s only 2 hours away from there. And the girls would ask me is there alot of white folk in Jersey. Wow!! just wow!!I didn’t get the individual vibe from many of the natives there. It was alot of the following the leader type of thing. I mean it as people try so hard to be different you all end up looking and sounding the same. I don’t mean to make generalizations, but I know it will come off as such. There were a few that were genuine and had high expectations.Sorry to rant

@Jereomes mom you don’t consider Newark North Jersey? Now that I live in central Jersey area…Essex,Passaic, and Bergen county are all one to two hours away. Philly is an hour from most parts of central Jersey too.

24 06 2008
Rev Leon Lonnie Luv

Chris,

Sent the email!

24 06 2008
Rev Leon Lonnie Luv

There are plenty of fake CEO’s trawling the ATL area. How many record labels are there out there? I ain’t tryin to knock anyone’s hustle, but I swear…

Where exactly does North Jersey seague into South Jersey? Someone told me that it’s when there are no more Wawa’s.

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

i got my eyelashes done once..when i was living in florida.. it was wayyyyy too cute i never wore make-up with them because i didnt need to it was like its own make-up..but when i 1st got them it hurt…because they are putting this glue on your eyelashes to keep them on and the glue smell is horrible and the smell stinged my eyes.. also if you arent use to them they get in the way at 1st. I would blink and i felt like i was going blind because they made me feel like i was squinting lol.. but when you get use to them they are too cute…only thing is you gotta go back to the place to get them off or you’ll end up pulling off your own eyelashes with the fake ones.

24 06 2008
The Doc Is In (mobile)

LOL, Omar I was just about to post…do fake CEOs count?

And whoever mentioned Mary Kay…I really need to know why overnight all my dang friends/family joined the Mary Kay/Warm Spirit/Silpada jewelry/scrapbooking cults. I love y’all dearly and appreciate the entreprenurial spirit…but I am NOT going to another dang sales “party”!

Anyhoo, I’m at a black-owned now getting my hair braided. When I get back to my comp (probably 50 hours from now, lol) I’ll send my contributions.

24 06 2008
chaoticdiva

I’ll send you info on my old boss and her husband. They both own (sepearate) businesses. Really sweet people.

24 06 2008
Rev Leon Lonnie Luv

Are there still Amway dealers out there?

24 06 2008
Avana

@Rev Leon Lonnie Luv I would say that when there are no more White Castles you have past North Jersey and are now in Central Jersey.When you see the mullets,Sebrings, and Wawas you are about to enter South Jersey. They also tend to say hoagie.
Going hood to hood: North Jersey (Newark)= dreads/locs,Central Jersey (Trenton)=Big Cadillac and El Dorados,South Jersey=Pro Keds,dickies (wtf?)

24 06 2008
The Doc Is In (mobile)

Best friend – I’ve only had my eyelashes done twice (once for a videoshoot) and both times I took them off the same dang day, LOL (you can do it yourself if you’re patient and soak in warm water and baby oil). My eyelashes are already thick, long and curly, so putting more on just looked clownish (although it is a nice dramatic look for photos). Plus, like you said they are irritating. It hurt whenever I went to rub my eye or something.

24 06 2008
Avana

@Ms. Epps so true that glue is horrendous…don’t use individual ones. My cousin’s salon does the extensions and they stay on for about two 1/2 months. They are $250 dollars. In the meantime just use the strip of lashes MAC has great ones, they won’t bother your eyes.I know because I wear prescription contacts. You are right about not needing mascara too. That wears them out. It’s like putting oil sheen on weave…not really necessary.

24 06 2008
Omar

I have a second part-time job at a couple owned by an interracial couple does that count?

24 06 2008
tnt

see what had happened was…i would send you my contact info but my biz hasn’t gotten off the ground yet

24 06 2008
The Doc Is In (mobile)

Avana, I’m from Philly as well and I would agree it’s a sad proportion of folk who have never “been off the block”. Philly is crazy, as big as the city is, you sometimes feel like the black folk might as well be living in some small hick town, I can’t go anywhere without running into someone who knows me or my family. Ah well, with all its quirks I gotta love my hometown.

24 06 2008
scarletjones

Ha ha @ Amway. I guy my husband was in grad school with actually was trying to sell Amway to people in their department! this has been in the last 2 years. I didn’t think Amway was still around either.

24 06 2008
Avana

@DOC IS IN Yes, yse, yes…that’s what I mean. It is not good. You couls say it’s the same thing as a suburban child that’s never been off the lawn besides the beach.

24 06 2008
benjie

@ Avana

well….
i’ve lived here my entire life and i have noticed the lemming like quality to the girls here. i’ve always been a bit eclectic in the way that i dressed, and most of the chicks around me weren’t feeling it.
but it just depends on where you are and who you’re around. in some neighborhoods, the uniform is colored (fucked up) weave or braids, long/short extra bright nails and ALOT of makeup (that tends not to match anything that they have on)
in other places, its cool to be an individual. you just have to know which parts.

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

Newark is definitely considered North Jersey and I miss it like CRAZY. I know since being in Philly it is rare to find people that have been out of Philly. Most of the guys I have met are quick to tell me they are born in raised here. So when I ask where else have you bee, they look at me with 3 heads. While I may have been raised in Plainfield NJ and call that home, I have also lived in Ohio, Atlanta, Virginia, see where I am going. I think nothing is worse than meeting someone who is afraid to try something different. Although the same could be said about newark. I know some people there who won’t leave the city limits.
BTW I think south Jersey starts around South Brunswick and includes all the shore area. North Jersey ends around Scotch Plains. Better example, 201, 973, 908 are North, 732 is Central and 609 and 856 is South. I like the WaWa thing though cause it is so true.

24 06 2008
tnt

man yall are killing my impression of philly, i visited for a week fell in love with the city and am currently making plans to come back. but the way yall talk about it…make me wonder what side of philly did i really see and fall in love with?

24 06 2008
london

chris
are the businesses to be usa based only?

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

I hate Philly, no disrespect to those from here. Actually I hate the State of PA, they are so freaking backwards

24 06 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

“are the businesses to be usa based only?”

London,

Go ahead and send me any you have in the UK. The…project…is starting out in the US but depending on the business model I choose (and how lucky I am) it may branch overseas.

Thanks.

24 06 2008
benjie

tnt-
don’t be discouraged. it is a wonderful, beautiful, historic city. that just happens to be inhabited by a few assholes and girls with no fashion sense. but even those said assholes and horribly dressed women rep this city until the day they die. i will always love it here. hell… i’m buying my first house here. couldnt imagine starting anywhere else.

it is like a small ass town though. lol
been saying that for years.

and c’mon jeresmom its not that bad. what part you in?

24 06 2008
Rev Leon Lonnie Luv

That’s why I had to get the hell out of Jackson, MS. There are two types of people that live there. 1) Those that stay and 2) Those that get the hell out. Of course, there is that semi category of folks who lived somewhere else, decided it wasn’t for them and moved back, so whatever. But there were quite a few women I would talk to that talked about how they’d never leave the state or they would never live too far from their parents or how the big city wasn’t for them. Hey, different strokes for different folks, but when I moved there in High School from Cali (BIG culture shock BTW), I knew I wasn’t trying to stay there forever. Even when I go visit my parents, I’m counting the days, because that town is so depressing as hell to me. The crime, the abandoned areas, the corrupt government that keeps anything progressive from happening…

I have a relative there that never travels or goes anywhere and gets seriously confused and baffled by people that want to move. And then the other folks always talkin about how “we need young minds like you to stay here and improve the place”. Well, God helps those that help themselves, right? I remember seeing a Starbucks opening there back in 2003 and remarked on how great it was to see Jackson getting into the 90s…

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

benjie- I am in Mt. Airy which is nice. Reminds me of Plainfield a lot. But there are those parts, and you know where I am referring to, that make me shake my head. I just can’t understand how such a sprawling city have some of the poorest areas while other parts are ridiculously expensive. I think of like Germantown, which is not that bad, and then Chestnut Hill. I mean how does that happen?

24 06 2008
chaoticdiva

Has been sent. Enjoy.

24 06 2008
blackberry molasses

sending info now…

Cosign on loving Philly… especially Center City, University City, and Manayunk. Also, the Italian markets are simply phenomenal. I think Philly has a unique mix of contradictions which makes it such an interesting city… could do without the PPA though… BASTARDS

and please peoples, stop hating on NJ. I’m an international transplant and I love it in SJ

24 06 2008
puff

@SBPH

do publications count?

24 06 2008
tnt

@jeres that’s the type of stuff that i deal with…as an urban planner.

planners are supposed to prevent one part of a city from receiving more attention than another, and other parts falling into decline. but most of the time that is very hard to do, since most planning departments around the country are run by old, white, men.

but that is where you (the citizen) needs to step up and make your voice heard. there is only so much the lone black planner can do in a department. and its even worse when there aren’t any black people in the department at all.

24 06 2008
benjie

jeresmom-

well. the hood is always gonna be the hood. and the people that live there tend to be a little stuck in there ways. germantown/chesnut hill? the difference is amazing as soon as you cross over, its like a completely different place, even tho its right up the street.
the city places funding needed to fix up the hood into projects that benefit neighborhoods that don’t need the money.
and, you know there’s that whole renters/owners thing. alot of the people in the poorer neighborhoods are renting. and they really could care less how everything looks.

who knows?

pretty soon gentrification is gonna blow up this whole spot and no one (of color) is gonna be able to afford to live anywhere. i’m in university city (which is a cool way to say southwest) and penn/drexel are buying up every available square foot.

24 06 2008
Nelo

‘Chris, I must say, you are lookin’ real good to me right now with all this racial uplift.”

Me too. Too bad I’m old enough to be your naive cousin.

24 06 2008
ishouldbeworking

Chris, I just e-mailed you information for a lawyer, a caterer, a shoe boutique owner, and an adult novelty store owner. Strange combination, I know, and to think that I was mad because I thought there would be no post today. Yay me for my contribution to …the project…!

24 06 2008
Jeresmom

Man you can’t get a thing over there. Mt. Airy isn’t any better. Right now we are renting (cause I am sharing a house with my mother) but I was looking to move and wanted to stay in the area. The price for a 2 bedroom here was ridiculous. But you can go to South or North Philly and get a 3 bedroom house for 500.

24 06 2008
Knatural

poor, stupid, Don Imus…

24 06 2008
Avana

Correct South Brunswick is where the countriness begins as far as speech. They always saying “jawn”, “true story”, and “to keep it funky with you”. I wish there was more night clubs in Jersey that were worth going to. Jersey is the place to go home and sleep to not party.Philly has New York beat on architecture and interior design. There is so much history there referring to both arts. I just wish Philly’s pizza was better and that the guys would stop that fake muslim nonsense. You know I don’t eat pork, my pants can’t toucht the ground, but I can touch any female that walks down the street type of muslim.

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

BESTIE!!!!!! your moblie..blah yes the fake eyelashes are only good for photo shoots and maybe a lng night at the clu on new years eve hahah…when i got them thats when i was going some modeling but never again will i do that shit…my eyelashes are pretty as they are…and if needed i’ll get the MAC ones like Avana said 🙂

24 06 2008
Mrs.Epps

Newark..sigh..that place is harddd as shit.. but i can dig it…i wouldnt walk around at night though hahaha…but the ppl are cool though.. my man’s Aunt and Uncle live there with there billion cats…When we went there last winter i got to see Redman since he is bestfriends with my man’s cousin.. thats a cool ass dude..funny ass shit and so cute in person.

24 06 2008
benjie

jeresmom-all you’re really paying for is the neighborhood. its always cheaper to live in the hood. have you ever looked at university city? it was about a year ago, but i was in a 3 bed apt (it was huge too) on cedar ave for 650.

avana- don’t be hating on the fake muslims…lol. we’ve been living with that for years. i can’t even begin to tell you how many “muslims” i’ve dated. and they all know they’re wrong for that.
and the pizza is good. the cheesesteaks are better.

24 06 2008

sooooo ya’ll left me over there in that empty farmer’s market post.

Ya’ll ain’t right!

24 06 2008
Merri Lee

What about businesses owned by interracial couples?

24 06 2008
lisaturtle

Vitazza… I ain’t know those were all black owned. I love Doll House Boutique!

24 06 2008
stuffgirlshlike

Rev Leon Lonnie Luv (17:31:02) :

Are there still Amway dealers out there?

I forgot about Amway.

24 06 2008
Merri Lee

^^^^^^^is Pampered Chef still around?

24 06 2008
chineseambassador

Okay, the only prob is that these multi-level marketing scams aren’t real businesses. A home catering business is a real small business- Mary Kay isn’t. Because of the way they are set up – everybody is losing their money at those games, and they’re all lying about making big bucks. That pink cadillac is NOT based on how much crap they sold, yo.

(I would know, having once been in one of those messes, and gotten out. Plus there’s always http://www.pinklighthouse.com.)

24 06 2008
vitazza

@lisaturle
yeah Dollhouse is awsome….the owner was featured on TLC I believe year and a half ago…… how ya gonna be in B-more and don’t have peeps to look out for??? lol
also check out Timothy Dean’s in Fells Point Baltimore, 21231
Sorry I didn’t email but I don’t see a link on the page from my phone’s browser and wordpress is a “ich” to sign into…from here…………….

25 06 2008
SOMALI QUEEN

Persians are the most self hating, white wanna be group of people (aside from Black Americans) I have ever met.

25 06 2008
SOMALI QUEEN

Wrong place…fuck it.

I wonder if anyone would support a Somali business hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

25 06 2008
chaoticdiva

SBPH, if you’re counting Dominicans as black, I can give you 2 more businesses…You may need a translator though, especially with Harlots (what a name, I know…but its a hair shop).

25 06 2008
shabooty

will a black hooker work?
cause i really need to meet Waneeta Dupree.

🙂 …ill have the ash on her really be dried up jizz.

25 06 2008
The Doc Is In

Shabooty, as long as she’s an independent contractor and not working for a Palefaced Pimp, it’s allowed.

25 06 2008
ViK

I know you want these emailed, but I thought I’d promote the black businesses in MY Washington (shout out to the 206)

Here’s a black business directory, the salon I got to, and a black owned spa

25 06 2008
ViK

Do non-profits count?

25 06 2008
willnotbetelevised

OK ST everyone 10 dolla for a cake. I ship contiental US. Also cheesecake. holla at GrandmaMade@gmail.com

No i aint got grandkids, this is my grandma’s famous bangin’ poundcake recipe. South Cackalaka knows how to cook

25 06 2008
Sue

Um how bout “Cake Love” in Downtown Silver Spring 20910 & Baltimore (zip??). You probably already counted that right?

25 06 2008
akissy

Wow, this is wonderful! I have spent the last year trying to find black owned businesses in the DMV area (ever since I read the article in Clutch Magazine about the African American hair care industry being “taken over” – does it count if we’re the ones giving it away??? – I have not stepped foot in a Korean owned beauty supply).

Anyways, do independent contractors count? I’m an insurance broker so I work for myself except that I am using the agency’s name which is not black owned…

25 06 2008
HeadNutInCharge

Out come the fake CEO’s

26 06 2008
Dede

Ok…I’ll play along 🙂

* The name of the business (required)
Sutton Media/Clutch Magazine

* The type of business (required)
Online Media

* Web address (optional)
http://www.clutchmagonline.com

* Some kind of contact info (phone number, email address) (required)
dsutton@clutchmagazine.com

* Any other information you might have (optional). This could include the date of founding, the name of the owner(s), business hours, or anything else you can think of that might seem relevant.

LLC founded in 2003. Been online for 15 months after a short time as a regional print mag from 2003-2006.

About us…
Clutch Magazine is the new face of the urban “it” girl; offering a delicious mix of the best in fashion, beauty, life, culture, and more. Clutch aims to appeal to every side of today’s multicultural woman—the fashionista, the working girl, the conscious mind, the social butterfly, the up and comer—and empowers readers to make informed choices about the myriad of decisions that impact their world.

*Chris what top-secret project you got going on now? I’m all excited to find what this is for!

26 06 2008
anjiebaby

You forgot to mention “record labels” as an eligible black owned business you’d like to include in “the project”. Over here at Rinky Dink Records, we’ll forgive that small oversight.

🙂

29 06 2008
willnotbetelevised

@TNT, I know this is a couple days late but can I holla at you. My little brother has been interested in urban planning for years and is starting school in the fall for it. (I always thought he was a megalomaniac b.c. he wanted to build cities and then have things named after him but he’s nerdy serious about it). Maybe 2 black urban planners could help. Or do you know any mentoring or anything he can do?

29 06 2008
willnotbetelevised

Mebbe Chris can help a sister get in contact… for the youth, for philly..

3 07 2008
Say it isn't so

@Merri Lee…Pampered chef is still around. Just made an order. Princess House Crystal too. If you’re into that stuff. I love it.

6 07 2008
letinstar

here’s a black owned and operated business you can add to the list chris…

http://www.stocktondermatology.com/

this is my dermatologist in phoenix

good luck with the project…

Leave a Reply

