Carbon Trading

7 04 2008

For those who don’t know what carbon trading is, I’ll give a brief step-by-step summary:

  1. Governments around the world impose limits on carbon emissions from various businesses
  2. Some businesses emit below the limits, and the difference between the limit and actual production is turned into carbon credits
  3. Carbon credits can be sold to businesses that emit above the limit
  4. Sanctimonious fucking yuppie white people become ‘carbon traders’, acting as intermediaries trading carbon credits between businesses, while claiming to be ‘saving the environment while making money, too’

I was listening to NPR this morning when some mid-twenties carbon trading shitbox made the ‘saving the environment while making money’ claim, and I nearly drove my car off a fucking overpass. This asswipe actually said, on a national radio program, that being a middle man was helping to SAVE THE PLANET! By stepping in and increasing the cost of trading carbon credits (and, by extension, placing downward political pressure on governments lowering their limits even further), you think you’re actually helping the environment somehow? ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!?

Figure 1: Yuppies trading their mothers’ souls

Stuffwhitepeoplelike.com definitely dips down from the airy realm of dry satire into earthy swamp of cold reality when the site states, repeatedly, that there’s a certain type of white person out there who just loves to delude himself into believing he can save the world by doing practically nothing. Listening to this NPR bit about carbon trading was almost like hearing SWPL.com come to life in physical form: they were interviewing three white people on public radio who were having a dinner party, drinking wine nobody’s ever heard of, eating some kind of fish that probably doesn’t actually exist (I’m sure a SWPL article on ‘rare fish’ will be coming out eventually), and talking about how carbon credits would help developing countries while listening to the soothing sounds of obscure fucking Indie music playing in the background.

The last time I was this close to vomiting while sober…I was an infant.

Figure 2: How I feel every single time I listen to NPR

I wonder when people are going to get it through their thick fucking skulls that society’s collective adjustment to climate change will not be a lateral move – it will be a backward one. There’s going to come a point when we simply have to cut back on consumption and take it in the ass for awhile as technology catches up.

Nobody wants to do this, though, because we’ve all been spoiled since World War II. No one in this country has had to make any real sacrifices for the collective good since then (notwithstanding certain parts of the civil rights movement), and now everyone either thinks a.) collective sacrifice never has to be made, or b.) collective sacrifice should be voluntary (which is damn near an oxymoron). This is complete and utter horse shit, especially the second one. While I personally haven’t, for example, given up my car – I will happily and enthusiastically comply with any future environmentally-based U.S. government mandate to do so. Short of such a mandate, voluntary concessions of personal conveniences by the scant few that can afford to do so are akin to throwing a handful of sand on a beach.

Figure 3: What it’s going to come to…

To this end, I really wish George Dubyah had been an environmentalist – because instead of terrifying the American public about terrorism (ironic, no?) for the purposes of oil exploration, he’d have instead terrified us about impending doom from climate change, and we’d all be riding horses and bicycles by now…

…and those fucking yuppie pricks on NPR would be out of work.

Actions

Information

92 responses

7 04 2008
imaG

swpl is real talk about the type white people real niggas hate. word

http://www.anythingblack.net

7 04 2008
Lolo

Waitwhat? Are you telling me that we can’t fix our problems by going shopping like our President told us to?

7 04 2008
ChocolateGirlWonder

LOL @ Lolo…

7 04 2008
Anmarie

Figure 3 seriously, that is indeed what it will take.

7 04 2008
Admiral Furious

This post here immediately made me blow my fucking lid and reminded me of other atrocities that also make me want to heave all of my internal ograns into a steamy pile on the floor. Yesterday I saw on the news that George W Bush’s niece, Lauren, is a fashion designer and has recently made a designer bag that feeds hungry children.

http://www.amazon.com/World-Food-Programme-Feed-Bag/dp/B000M3OP6A/ref=pd_bbs_1?ie=UTF8&s=apparel&qid=1207579289&sr=8-1
http://www.dotspotter.com/news/376412_Love_it_Lauren_Bush_s_FEED_Bag
http://www.beautyandthedirt.co.uk/show.asp?ID=1814

You’ve got to be fucking kidding me. Now granted her claim of $34 will go toward feeding a needy child… my question is… where? At her house? Her kids? That bag is gutter looking ugly and the insulting aura of its existence is overly apparent.

7 04 2008
Sister Toldja

@ imaG: I disagree. I think of myself as an “EBW and an around the way girl” . I have bamboo earrings, at least two pair. However, I like a LOT of the stuff from SWPL (i.e. expensive sandwiches, vegitarianism, NPR, coffee and something illegal that I will not mention). Then again, I hate “real niggas”.

NPR is one of my fave news sources, but there are a lot of douchebaggery moments on there.

I’m willing to do my part. I will give up working to help the country. That will save on almost two hours of vehicle emissions each day. Someone, find a wealthy man to marry me and I will lay up all day barefoot and pregant with children who will also follow any mandates that can help the country. I’m not doing this for me, you know. I’m thinking of America.

7 04 2008
Fruity Pebble

Chris, every post makes me like you more.

7 04 2008
Esquire

OMG @ Sister Toldja! I almost peed in my pants laughing.
The comments are almost as funny as the posts.

7 04 2008
Sylvia/M

I am willing to give up 10 people’s food, energy use, and transportation for the common good. More time to charge up my iPod.

7 04 2008
thebusinesswoman

Well, all these things sound just whilly nilly…what have I done to heal the world and make it a better place.

I switched to those expensive lightbulbs, I recycle all my water bottles and frosted flakes boxes, after I wear a new outfit about maximum two times, I sell it to a cosignment shop and used the moola to buy newer clothes (recycling x 2)…so yeah I’m totally pro-earth

But just to show you how much further we have to go. case in point: I am an official HGTV freekazoid. I watch the shit out that channel. I could remodel an apartment with $7, a bag of cottonballs, and some jolly ranchers. I’m telling you its not a game. So recently the channel has been running all these commercials on how you can “be green” and save energy. I was with it for the most part until they informed me that 40% of the energy that electronics use occurs while those bitches are turned off! Blasphemy! Are you saying that me turning off the TV before I leave to burn fuel in my hummer is not saving the fuckin planet! Are you telling me that the only way to truly help out is to unplug all that shit, ever time Im not using it! (fanning my self)

Tell me people, are you willing to reset the fuckin time on your microwave everyday…for the earth???

Red or green pill…

7 04 2008
Ethel

My GAWD how I love the author of this blog.

Aside from that, does anyone else find this situation ironic? If a Carbon credit is equal to the difference between an allowed limit of emissions and what was actually emitted…what is that? It’s nothing. So Carbon Traders are taking credit to save the planet while making tons of $ trading Nothing….?!

And to the business woman who may argue with me, how about we just leave the clocks off the appliances and hang them on the wall like we used to?

7 04 2008
judd

fuck carbon credits. i gave the car up 9 months ago and ain’t looked back. as you said, traffic fucking sucks; so what better way to avoid it, then by not driving? it’s great to blow by lines of cars stuck idling.

7 04 2008
Lady

“To this end, I really wish George Dubyah had been an environmentalist – because instead of terrifying the American public about terrorism (ironic, no?) for the purposes of oil exploration, he’d have instead terrified us about impending doom from climate change, and we’d all be riding horses and bicycles by now…”

I have a feeling if the junior dummy didn’t cheat his way into office and Al Gore won, like he actually did before the tweaked things and ‘corrected’ themselves saying he won, it would be something similar to that. I think we need someone to make some tough decisions and do something about the state of the environment. I don’t look forward to some ‘Day after Tomorrow’ scene going down when i’m in my 60’s..

7 04 2008
Lady

@thebusinesswoman

I didn’t know all of that about unplugging appliances either until i saw that show, i think it was on Discovery called ‘Six degrees could change the world’. From my cell phone charger to my PS2 i unplugged everything and you know what, my electricity bill went down $27.. i didn’t know how much we(humans) inadvertently waste..

7 04 2008
thebusinesswoman

WWWHHAAATTTTT! $27! That’s a whole pedicure with designs! lol Girl, Im on it!

@ Ethel

What the fuck is this name of yours, I bet your friends names are Beatrice, Shirley, and Ruth (My grandma name, ha).

Anyway, Im not a woman basher so, in no way am I coming at you foul (lying). I dont know what kind of microwave you got, but mine displays the time. I know your felix the cat clock with the wicked tail is all the rage after you peel yourself off of those plastic covered couches, but when Im on the move and Im in the kitchen making this morning’s snack, if the time on the microwave is off, it throws me off.

So sadatay to you, if you dont like it, cause frankly my dear I dont give a fuck (but in a nice way 🙂 )

7 04 2008
brran1

Screw that. I’m not unplugging crap. Who wants to be home one day, decided they want to use something, then have to wait an additional 15 minutes b/c they have to untangle cords then find the right cord to plug into the socket? smh.

7 04 2008
Lady

@brran1

I didn’t unplug the big things like the cable box, the stove, the microwave, etc, little things like the cell phone charger, the hair dryer, the PS2, the lamp, little things. I mean at the basic level, at least it saves you money. In the grand scheme of things it helps the environment. I mean i’m not going to force it on anyone, I’m just saying. Little things that you just have to stand in front of, plug back in and use, why not?

Tangled up cords are a fire hazard anyway. LOL

7 04 2008
I'll never tell...

LMAO! I litterally spit out my coffee when I saw this. In “real life” my career, among other things, is helping those “mid-twenties carbon trading shitbox(es)” “sav(e) the environment while making money”. (i.e. I work for an Energy Trading Company)
This article just helped me affirm that I’m probably going to hell. Thanks SBPH! LOL!

7 04 2008
Esquire

The business woman is my official idol…I can’t breathe.
“I know your felix the cat clock with the wicked tail is all the rage after you peel yourself off of those plastic covered couches,…”

I saw that HGTV show too. Whats really funny is that house is in the lowcountry in SC. They burnt up a hell of a lot of gas getting the crew in and out of the middle of nowhere and probably drove past the Georgetown paper mill whose emissions are so bad the town smells like a sack of sh*t.

Those light bulbs are expensive as hell and they emit a natural light that doesnt really look that natural in your house. The money I would save unplugging everything every day is less than what I spent on those damn bulbs. I guess they do last like 93 years.

Giving up a car is much harder to do if you dont live in a big city. Public transportation is virtually non existent. Guess I could ride a horse into work.

7 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

“Guess I could ride a horse into work.”

Of course you can. These guys did it all the time: http://memory.loc.gov/award/iencurt/cp03/cp03002v.jpg

7 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Does anyone here know what the master switch on a breaker panel does?

7 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

“Does anyone here know what the master switch on a breaker panel does?”

Cause Problems.

7 04 2008
Anmarie

LOL what does it do AF, besides cause problems?

7 04 2008
Anmarie

LADY that was the most useful freaking thing i’ve heard all week, but then again it’s only monday, I’ll be waiting for you to top yourself by Wednesday

7 04 2008
Esquire

giddie up

7 04 2008
Lady

I go to the fuse box to turn off my central air since the people who installed it made it so the frickin’ fan is always on, but that’s it. I don’t even watch TV every day, but when I’m ready I don’t want to have to wait for it to load up to watch the news.

7 04 2008
imaG

I don’t do shit to tell the truth.. I don’t litter. 🙂 But yo, Sista Toldja, I ain’t hating cause you like some of the “finer” things. Its all love

http://www.anythingblack.net

7 04 2008
whyihateyou

dead @ figure 2.

7 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Cause and solve everyone’s problems at the same time.

7 04 2008
hateblkmen:yellin ittothagrave

speaking of the environment, please read the Time Article on ETHANOL “THe Clean Energy Myth by Michael Grunwald…ITS A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And food prices are ON THE RISE…

Sold my car! so here i am in CA with no comprehensive transportation system…Chris i don’t know bout the collective!? Feelin like Fuck the collective.

bussinesswoman- JOLLY RANCHERS and cotton balls….ROTF.

7 04 2008
thebusinesswoman

@hateblkmen

Everytime, I want to show you love, I just can’t because of your fuckin name. Can you please explain to me why you hate em’ so, or at least let me refer you to one of my pahtnahs so he can fuck some sense into you.

Also, how in the world, and America, and the galaxy and beyond the milky way do you function in LA with out a car.

Im about to move to north hollywood just because I am dying to test out the new subway so I can be transformed back to my carefree DC days, but still shit, Ima have my car.

Do tell

7 04 2008
70ssoulchild

Wow Chris I learned something new today. Carbon-trading??? dayum its gonna take more that than. My grandmother used to say all this energy folks are wasting ain’t gonna last forever.

Thanks for enlightenment.

7 04 2008
Kara

@Admirial Furious: That has got to be one of the most offensive acts of “charity” I have seen in a long time. Can you imagine being in the office while that one was dreamed up? “I have this brilliant idea! We’ll design this bag, right? And we’ll… get this… make it look LIKE IT’S A STORAGE BAG FOR ANIMAL FEED. And then we’ll donate some of the money we make off of it to children in third world countries! Cause they live like animals, right?”

@Chris: Carbon trading has pissed me off for a long time, too. I like listening to NPR but nine times out of ten they end up pissing me off more than informing me of anything.

@ everybody: It’s unsettling how expensive it actually is to “go green” in any meaningful way. My housemates and I watched a television program recently on this lady in Cambridge who converted her whole house to conserve energy, and it was truly staggering how much money this woman spent. It’s irresponsible to ignore environmental concerns, but how many of us can really afford to remodel an entire home?

7 04 2008
Admiral Furious

The LA train system sucks. I used to live in Burbank and the train schedules DON’T Coincide with the bus schedule. I will NEVER understand how they stay in business. Oh thats right, the oil companies ensure people get too pissed off with the public transportation by screwing it royally and pushing them to getting a car.

Big up Businesswoman

7 04 2008
thebusinesswoman

Well supposedly, the orange line or sumthing aruther is going to be able to drop you off on sunset (where I do alot of my partying/lounging/networking/eating/ shopping/bookstore/library perusing) so I was looking forward to not having to drive around for hours trying to park at night (cause Im too cheap to pay for punk ass parking at $15-20 a pop) or pay the meters a million quarters an hour in the daytime.

Plus no car eliminates drunk driving, but then again ups my chances of getting snatched the fuck up and violated while waiting for the train so either way, Im fucked… but the latter saves dough, just in case I make it to see another day.

So whether the train is on time or not, I really dont care, because the days that I spend just doing me will be that much more enjoyable on the train with my ipod, then on the road with those mexicans

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Kara… now you understand how furious I was when I heard/saw the following parameters:

-A member of the Bush family doing something for charity
(contradiction in terms)

-Lauren Bush Speak
(like a typical valley girl who has absolutely no fucking brains at all)

-And finally that godforsaken bag. The look of it overall is an endemic failure… and YES… it looks like something livestock feed would come in. OR… what what peon’s clothing was made of back in the 14th century… burlap.

Kara… you win the prize of making me mad as SHIT for the day.

8 04 2008
Ethel

@ the business woman:

Interesting you’d go on a personal attack when your snacktime is threatened but my point, and I do have one, is that the industry that manufactures all the appliances with clocks and extraneous bells and whistles should stop and consider the carbon footprint when designing that next stainless steel range that will appear admist Ty Pennington’s tears in the next ‘Extreme Home Makeover’.

FYI, Ethel is in reference to The Great Ethel Merman [because yes, I sometimes hang around alot of gay men who happen to be hanging around a grand piano]. So with that in mind, when you accuse me of having poor taste in home decor, let me say in the nicest possible way: Don’t make me sing!

8 04 2008
Cola

lmao@ figure 2

8 04 2008
maya

i have these energy-saving lightbulbs in my apartment. but now i’m extra freaked out about them because last week on dateline or 20/20 or the nightly news (one of those) they were saying that mercury is inside the damn lightbulbs. mercury, in case you didn’t know, is super toxic, so much so that if you accident drop one of these fuckers in your house and it shatters you have to call poison control so you won’t kill yourself trying to clean it up. THEN after the shit eventually dies out, you have to throw it away at one of those special waste dumps so it doesn’t kill anyone else.

save the planet. kill yourselves.

8 04 2008
Miss Ray

Thank GAWD I live in NY, except they are now cutting into our bonuses and soon thinking about raising that fare to $2.25. Crazy. I personally have no desire to get a car and it has nothing to do with saving the environment. INSURANCE and GAS people…both out of control.

8 04 2008
heather

this post was great. i can’t stand it when people act like doing little nothing shit is all revolutionary. like “trading carbon”, or brand new shiny giant “green appliances”.
its easy to go green. and cheap. quit buying new shit. buy used appliances. i’d almost bet it saves more energy to buy a used washer than make a frontloader.

as for the oh-so-difficult act of unplugging all those appliances, use some of those power strips or cords that plug in a bunch of stuff at once, then have them for different general uses. like i have one t.v./dvd set, one computer room set, kitchen, etc. then just plug in the shit when we need to use it.

And i’m not suprised NPR was glorifing this carbon thing without pointing out the obvious that it’s another attempt to have the cake and eat it too.
Anyways, great post. peace.

8 04 2008
Sadie

Funny enough, I just completed a paper on environmental crisis, and I read about the ‘Clean Development Mechanism’ in the Kyoto Protocol. I’m not American, and I do realize that America didn’t sign on to the Protocol (not a criticism, merely statement of fact), but it’s basically a clause within the Protocol that allows for ‘carbon trading’, under the premise that it doesn’t matter where the carbon reductions are coming from, as long as they’re happening… So much for globally addressing climate change. Everything’s for sale these days.

Essentially, developing countries are, and will continue to be, shouldering the carbon emitting burden of the industrialised nations, under the guise of ‘partnership’. I’d love to buy an ugly bag, because that’s how you address poverty of course. Loveya Dubya!!! I know it’s his daughter, but whatever…

8 04 2008
imaG

@ Heather. Used doesn’t mean shit. Used shit is generally worse for the environment.

http://www.anythingblack.net

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

@ Hateblkmen: AHAHAHAHAHA! Can you explain your name? I hate Black men too sometimes, mostly because I think they hate Black women (at least most of them). Tell us why you mad, son.

8 04 2008
Mr. Smith

Wow time out Sister Toldja,

That’s not a fair statement that most black men hate black women. Sure they don’t date, but hate is a pretty strong word…. That said most of the stuff Chris brings up on here I DO in fact hate!

I love black women, but if I went any further in that statement we’d be right back at the other topic again.

Hateblkmen,

Do explain.

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

Mr. Smith- Hate is not always a strong, passionate emotion. It can manifest itself via indifference, disrespect, disregard, dismissiveness. I think many (perhaps most is somewhat unfair…..perhaps) Black men have a very passive hatred of Black women; they use the word bitch and hoe to describe us even when they aren’t mad at us (or even when we AREN’T bitches or hoes). A lot of them ditch us for non-Black women the first chance they get. If we inquire what they do for a living or where we went to school, we’re gold-diggers. If a brother went to college, hell ANY college, he seems to think he is God’s gift to women and no matter how unattractive or wack he is, he is entitled to the best freaking woman on the face of the earth.

Black men leave us to raise the babies. They love their boys more than they love us. They don’t marry as much as they play house. They expect us to put up with blatant cheating and lying. They approach us in the street with “Shorty, yo! You got some sexy ass lips” (quote from a lower-class miscreatin) and “Your ass to waist ratio is phenominal” (quote from an Ivy League miscreatin).

I could go on for days. The disrespect crosses class and educational boundaries. And for these reasons, I too hate Black men more often than I would like to admit. But unlike brothers when they get fed up with sisters, I am not gonna abandon y’all. I am gonna stay here with my heals dug in the ground until I find a worthy man and become his wife, even if it kills me.

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

Can I add- Black men are obsessed with relegating women to “traditional” gender roles, but are less interested with assuming traditional male responsibilties (chivalry, protecition, providing, etc.).

8 04 2008
Anmarie

Well i know that i hate black men in NYC because they drive big ass hummers and a whole range of gigantic gas guzzling SUVs, rolling one deep in this “car” (military tanks really) when there’s no freaking reason to drive in NYC anyway.

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Again, I will put my rear end out in the open for a caining, but I have to retort here. For all the ladies who have a seriously negative view on black men, your assessment on black men sounds like it came from a Viacom made for TV movie that bashes black men and rides the stereotype that has been ridden for several decades regarding African American families. In essence, I have to disagree with your statements… for the most part. Now I’m not saying that there aren’t the bad apples out there that abandon their children and wives to fulfill whatever ridiculous desire they crave… because I do acknowledge that it happens. But that is every race. If you don’t believe me, go check the dead beat daddies page at a police department with jurisdiction outside of a populous that’s majority black. Additionally, (and this is something that I get furious about time and time again) if you are speaking about your personal experience (with one or two dudes) you absolutely cannot judge an entire race of men simply because thou made bad choices in men. That is like me going off of my assessment of the majority of the black women I met who have been reared in the LA area and saying all black women are gold digging B*s. It’s just not true.

This hating is why our community has been brought down to the boiling charred remains as it stands today… and YES it has been proliferated by the media. Many people yell about changing the way our community operates so that it can return to the “peace and prosperity” that once graced the lives of black people prior to the 1960. Our community stood together… man and woman… in a united front for equality and construction and achievement… but somewhere down the lines… things started to fall apart. Have you ever heard the term: Divide and Conquer? Don’t try to fight the enemy… make your enemy fight themselves. People try to say that the “MAN” is not to blame for what has happened to us today, but ultimately… there always has to be a catalyst to set a machine in motion. YES… we as black people are to blame for not wising up and realizing what has become of us and making a conscious effort to STOP! Narcissism flows to rapidly and too hot to put both the high rolling men and women in check and force them to help end this issue. But again, lets take a look at the root issue that made our lives a living hell as they are today. Media… run by the rich… whose population is 87% white. The Media has continued to display images of black people, primarily men, as violent disrespectful offenders to both society and general and their women. (please see menace to society… or Belly… or any fucking movie negative toward men). Meanwhile the women are portrayed as loud mouthed, violent, easy access terminals to white men (please see monsters ball, BAPS, etc). Special Interest groups that influence the government. Please pay attention here and read between the lines because I’m about to write this really fast. The Korean and Vietnam wars opened up avenues to adultery and promiscuity on both sides of the spectrum for ALL races. Drugs, sex, violence, poor nutrition: ALL accounted for the downfall of society and therefore put in motion the foul machine that we have today. Yes black men left their wives then… because they were at war. I had three uncles… THREE… that were in Vietnam. All three of them came back. Only one of them is still alive. The other two… committed suicide, leaving my aunts (by blood) to raise a combined five children on their own. But thats not the point, I’m speaking from a personal view… my apologies. The special interest groups also modified a wonderful system where financial gain was there for women if they 1) did not marry… 2) had children… 3) did not work… 4) had no assets. Women of all races took part in this system, which has locked them in indefinitely. Wanna know what its called? Welfare. I’ll speak from a personal experience… my significant other refuses to take a $60K annual job with the post office because she would lose her welfare check and she would have to work full time. Her excuse for not being able to work full time… she had no baby sitter for her 4 children (oldest 14 youngest 6). Yet this is the same 36 year old woman who will leave her (then 13 year old) in charge of the others while she 1) went to get her hair done…. 2) go shopping for shoes… 3) Go to the club. Those are the women I turn my nose up to.

I personally love black women and I believe that they are THE pinnacle of what a woman should be. When one looks at the demeanor, candor, guile, intelligence AND strength of a black woman… there is no other race that can step up to the plate and bring her down (on fair terms… we know that this world cheats and the black woman can be brought down by the white cunts of the society). But the attitude that seems to be reigning high within the minds of black women is their utter disdain for the black man… without concrete evidence supporting it. The hypothetical and emotional reactions to what is heard on the radio and seen on TV must be suppressed and rationality must take over in regards to men. Not all educated black men feel as though they’re God’s gift to women. Not all educated black women are gold digging egotistical brats. Not all Southern Californians want to be actors and actresses… (though many of the men and women of all races there are WACK as shit).

We have to be fair to and respect each other before we can get ahead. If we don’t… then fuck it, we’re doomed. We might as well just continue feeding rope over the tree until we hang ourselves.

NOW… back to carbon trading.

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

And yes I do agree that if you live in NYC… there is no reason at ALL to have a car. The public transportation system in that city is second to none… with Chi-town and DC coming in a distant second for me. The NYC public transportation system almost reminds me of that found in various European cities.

8 04 2008
Esquire

@ Sister Toldja,

girl, some of your points are dead on. But I was relieved to see your last comment “I am gonna stay here with my heals dug in the ground until I find a worthy man and become his wife, even if it kills me.” WHEW!

There are a lot of half ass brothers, but there are a LOT of good ones too. Sometimes we, I dont mean you personally cause I dont know you, but we as sistas tend to dismiss the good brothas and make it sooo hard for them. We spend too much damn time looking for the ballers, the thugs, so forth and so on, when the right brotha is right up under our noses.

That broke guy in college who wasnt on the football team might just end up being America’s next top Lawyer, or a high powered corporate business man. He might just be a teacher who cares about his students or a laborer who works hard to support his family. He might be a good father and a man who loves (insert your Supreme Being). But we totally dismiss him because he aint cool enough, dont have enough money, etc. I wish we would put down the Terry McMillian books and get real about real brothas.

I would have NEVER dated my husband. He was too light, 6 ft (too short), and wanted to be a teacher (too too broke). But his mom introduced us and he was too polite, too funny, too respectful, and too sexxxy. I never looked back. We got married and had a beautiful child. He loves God, us, and being married. He is truly my best friend. He got me through my Bar exam when I morphed into crazy woman, and has supported me through everything. I have to fight him to give me my daughter sometimes (she got him her in little back pocket), he is a great father. But I woulda dismissed him for all the wrong superficial reasons and could have missed out on all this happiness I didnt expect.

Mr. Right can’t come home if Mr. Wrong is in his parking space.

Girl, just wait. Your man is out there and he is coming for you…if the mercury from his energy efficient light bulbs dont kill him first.

8 04 2008
ManEater

” I am not gonna abandon y’all. I am gonna stay here with my heals dug in the ground until I find a worthy man and become his wife, even if it kills me.”

Well, you best put them ovaries on ice girl… just in case.

8 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

@Esquire: “We spend too much damn time looking for the ballers, the thugs, so forth and so on, when the right brotha is right up under our noses.”

I want to shake your friggin’ hand…

8 04 2008
Anmarie

And all this from Carbon Trading. Well I’ve been trying to say in FAQ and Stupid Fashion Trends that we are outrageously harsh on each other for no damn reason. I;m convinced it’s all a reflection of self hatred. We’d quicker be with a person of another race that;s unattractive than with each other for the smallest pet peeve, because dealing with other races it’s all about what;s on the inside and with each other everything superfacial reigns. Man this stuff is sad. I think Sista Toldja’s attitude is coming from more than the media though. We are women every day, AF you don’t know what that;s like, and we live in NYC sess pool central. There aren’t alot of good people in general. And you do hear crazy things from dudes on a daily basis. In terms of black men hating us, just here on this site we’ve heard several black men talk about no longer dating black women. I personally think there’s just to many black women out here to think that we’re all like the couple of black girls you went to school with or the mean black lady at the post office sterotype. BTW Chris you know what i’ve hiked through woods, Spent a week on the Appalachian trail traveling, rock climbed, repelled down the side of a dam, slept outside in the open air a few times, with other black women. There are outdoorsy black women. And women at some point we’re going to have to be honest about the fact that most very good looking people in this society are douche bags, so prince charming is of course hard to find cause we;re looking for the wrong things.

8 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

“BTW Chris you know what i’ve hiked through woods, Spent a week on the Appalachian trail traveling, rock climbed, repelled down the side of a dam, slept outside in the open air a few times, with other black women.”

I knew I was living in the wrong damn city.

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

1) There are reasons to have a car in NYC. For example, I live in BK and work in Newark. There is no acceptable reason to live in Newark, thus I MUST drive because my job is not public trans accessible. When I leave this hellhole for a job in the city, I may still keep a car for weekends. I live a ways a way from the train and I am not getting raped at 3AM for the sake of the environment, sorry.

2) Black men and women are psychologically wounded people. We bring those wounds to the table in our relationships and all of our interractions with one another. And while I realize there has been a systemmatic campaign to destroy Black people’s relationships and families, that does not absolve the Black man for his complicity. This is deeper than propoganda, deeper than a few experiences I’ve had with knuckleheads. I have countless girlfriends, female relatives and blog readers who have shared stories with me that speak to my theories. I also suggest that anyone who is truly interested in this subject check our “Shifting: The Double Lives Of Black Women In America”.

We have made the needs of the Black man the needs of the community as a whole, with little to no attention to the plight of the Black woman. Especially when a Black woman’s struggle comes at the hands of a Black man. Yeah, there’s a lot of “niggas aint shit” and “all men are dogs” sentiments flying about. But at the end of the day, most Black women are helping to hold the brothers down (or trying to). I cannot say that most brothers are willing or able to do the same.

@ Esquire- I appreciate your story, but I also think (and you’d agree with me) that your standards were pretty absurd before you decided to enter that relationship, if you were dismissing men for being too light, teachers for being too broke and 6’0 men for being too short. I’m glad you had a change if heart, because it sounds like you have a great man. I’m not gonna let Mr. Wrong stand in the way of Mr. Right, because when a man proves himself unworthy….he is QUICKLY dismissed. But I think most sisters would argue that it isn’t the light-skinned, 6’0 teachers getting at us that we don’t want. It’s the misogynistic, playa, superficial, no-knowledge of self Negroids getting in the way of our uplift!

I will say this, to get on the sisters for a second. I am one of the few women I know who likes light-skinned men. Not prefers them, LIKES them at all. I have no color preference….eventhough I think I subconciously lean towards tall light-skinned men because of my tall light-skinned daddy. But the same sisters who get mad when they feel snubbed for their complextion will dis a yellow man. Then again, I had a light-skinned man who dates White women tell me he will marry a dark-skinned woman so his children won’t be so pale.

WE ARE SCREWED.

8 04 2008
benjie

i was just having this same conversation with one of my girl friends the other day.
it’s so many single black women who are looking for a “good black man” and finding nothing. but it’s their definition of “good” thats flawed.
i will be the first to admit that the last few dudes that i dated were complete douchebags, but i was attracted to them for all the wrong, and childish reasons. at some point, women need to grow up emtionally and realize that a thug isn’t the answer to everything. that what we want may not be the same as what we need.

who knows…

but this is why i’m still single.

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

I too commend Esquire. Bravo.

Anmarie, you’re right… I don’t know what it’s like to be a woman in NYC as neither is a huge not applicable for me. However, I do know what it’s like to be a black man in Bmore/DC where it was a struggle to find a woman who didn’t want a “Baller” or a “True Player” because again… both are not applicable to me. So as far as the hatred against black men is concerned, I’ve received my fair share and I do understand the struggles in which the ladies speak.

Now at the same time, I will say that the women I’ve met outside of the So-Cal/DC area are a heck of a lot friendlier. So I too must agree with Chris… limiting our search scope to one city is not the right approach to this. NYC has rendered some of the most competent people I’ve ever met… and the most unruly. And considering my hypocrisy… I digress and therefore wonder… does the same apply to DC? (shrug)

8 04 2008
Anmarie

Admiral it’s hard out here. I’m gonna go to a Star Trek Convention, see if i meet the one back man that shares my love of Jean Luc Picard. There was no reason to admitt that. Anyway, don’t feel bad, I’m sure that black men in NYC think that women outside of this city are more on point also. Human beings like to complain.

Chris to be fair i was so scared on that rock climb I could visually see my knees shaking. 😉

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

I have to disagree with one thing. Not all sisters are looking for “ballers” or thugs. Now, I do know my share of college-educated women who wanted a guy with “thug appeal”, which is ridiculous. But my closest friends and I have had a pretty simple and reasonable list of non-negotiables: kind, respectful, attractive (to the woman in question), intelligent and educated, with tastes and a lifestyle that works well with mine. I do want a man to be taller than me, but that’s not unreasonable. I’m 5’9, and it is as reasonable to expect me to date a man who is 5’6 as it is to chide a man who works out daily for rejecting a sweet woman of 300 lbs. I would STRONGLY prefer a college graduate, as I (not from a family of great means at ALL) managed to graduate from a great school.

Beyond that: make me laugh, treat me well and give me a traditional courtship, and I will certainly repay the favor.

Not to call Chris out, and I’m not saying this is the case for him, but I have heard men complain like “There are no Black women who hike or go camping”. True, sisters who actively do that stuff are in the minority (as are brothers!), but I would imagine that a woman who likes you would be willing to give something you enjoy a shot. How many brothers go to plays or jazz concerts without a woman’s cajoling? I would LOVE to be a Black man, complaining about a few gold diggers or a woman who doesn’t like camping. HA! I say it again, HA! Meanwhile, I’d like to go a week without being called a bitch by a man in the street, having some strange man compliment a body part, being approached by a man who is “seperated” from his wife, one who has a girlfriend, one who lives with his ex….yes, give me a gold digger any freaking day!

8 04 2008
Machete

“it was a struggle to find a woman who didn’t want a “Baller” or a “True Player” ”

Why on earth would a woman want a “Baller/”True Player” types – by observation/definition/even stereotype, doesn’t that just scream his sleep number is too high (not talking about mattress firmness here) and he prolly has baby mamas spread out all over the count(r)y.

8 04 2008
Machete

Looks like this topic is jumping from one thread to another and deserves it’s own dedicated comment page at this point… as it has nothing to do with Carbon trading =).

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

For as long we never understand each others plights, this argument will never end. I acknowledge the struggle of the black woman, yet there is no acknowledgment of the black man’s struggle. Let me point something out really quick…

In the work place… particularly in white collar America, a black woman will certainly get hired over a black man in most cases. Why? Because of quotas. Why hire the black dude with the same qualifications when we can knock out two birds with one stone (woman and black)… AND we can fast track her to management.

I just wanted to point that out as a struggle that men have to deal with now. BUT at the same time, thats not the point… nowhere near it. I want to go back to the divide and conquer strategy. These attitudes that reign in the minds of women about black men is exactly what is wanted by the opposition of the black community. Meanwhile, these idiot black men need to get the old school slap across the mouth by a MAN… a MAN that will teach them what being a courteous MAN is all about. I will NOT sit here and defend the bad apples, because I certainly acknowledge that they exist… in droves. I can’t stand them and I truly feel for women who subject themselves to dating the complete losers that they are (partially). I do not, however, feel for ladies who willingly subject themselves to men who obviously treat them bad, and yet refuse to leave them because they believe “he loves me”, “he treats me good despite the beatings,” “he doesn’t love her… he loves me,” etc. Those are the ones that come out of relationships salty as anything and blame their problems on the struggle with black men. No.

The same goes for the dudes who struggled to establish themselves with a woman… and sucker themselves into a gold digger relationship. I saw it all too often out in So-Cal, and I was appalled at how badly these guys get ruined by these… women. I’m talking of a man who truly loves a woman, yet all she wants is his money, that he worked his ass off to get through years of laboring in school. I don’t feel sorry for him, because he should have seen the reality of the girl before the shit hit the fan. My only advice to him… kill yourself.

Anyhow… my whole point is… everyone here is to blame… both men AND women. There is NO “oh my struggle is worse than yours”… because the struggle is equal. I don’t know what its like to be a black woman (though I’ve observed how it is through the experiences of those around me) and women don’t understand how hard it is to be a black man in society. This argument is completely pointless and it will continue to be pointless until we decide to say… FUCK IT… lets start over, drop all our struggles to the ground, and work this out together.

Of course thats easier said than done.

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Machete… you tell me. But then again, that screams the shallowness of the women with computer science degrees who were coming out of school making a decent salary.

8 04 2008
Machete

Huh? what has a cs degree and $$$ got to do with not wanting a baller/playa type and/or being shallow? I confused.

8 04 2008
Anmarie

Ok ok true you know I’m all for the admitt your shit and suck it up, And I hate how we sit around blaming eacher but never listening to each other. And Homey no one as ever said it was easy to be a black man, most of our struggles as a people have been centered on the black man’s plight. I have a girlfriend that’s so problack but will sit and listen to her guy friends say all kind of crazy shit about women. Black women get it on all sides (sexism, racism from society and sexism misogeny in our own community) and we’re over whelmingly dealing with it alone with no love in the home because tooooo many black men have decided we’re the problem and they think they can ecscape the bullshit of being black by dealing with a woman of another race.

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

I’m not saying that our struggle is worse. I’m saying it is IGNORED by most brothers and a lot of sisters. Without writing a 1000 word essay, consider this: Black men get their asses handed to them at school (unless they went to an HBCU) and in the workplace. Black women encounter the same thing AND have to deal with being treated like shit by Black men.

I looked at my bookshelf once and saw “Destruction Of The Black Male Image”, “Reconstruction Of The African American Male”, “…The Conspiracy To Destroy Black Boys” sitting right next to my feminist books. How many brothers have taken the time to really evaluate the plight of the Black woman? Really? The most “Afrocentric”, “concious” brothers can be just as misogynistic as the street dudes and twice as likely to go pull a White girl in a fucking headwrap.

Does the blame both ways? Oh, of course. But do I feel that Black men have been more complicit in keeping the divide going? Yes.

8 04 2008
Lady

@ everybody: It’s unsettling how expensive it actually is to “go green” in any meaningful way. My housemates and I watched a television program recently on this lady in Cambridge who converted her whole house to conserve energy, and it was truly staggering how much money this woman spent. It’s irresponsible to ignore environmental concerns, but how many of us can really afford to remodel an entire home?

@Kara

I thought the gov’t gives you ‘tax deductions’ for some of that solar panel crap that ppl stick on their roof. It costs a lot of money to do, but once you do it was my understanding that you get some of that back. The other way you get it back is through saving what you would have spent… whatev

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Its all a horrible catch 22. But you know what Anmarie, I like your approach and understanding. And the fact that you’re a treky/sci fi lover… you’re good to go in my books. Too bad I’m not single.

Machete… while I was in college, the educated women were going for the Ballers with Cadillac Escalades (who dealt drugs in PG County) or Players with Benzes (who had 15 other women on the side). This epidemic lasted until my late 20s when those same women finally stopped complaining about their assholes and found reasonable spouses. Unfortunately, not all of them found black men. What did you think I was talking about you? Is this something you went about doing? Maybe it was maybe it wasn’t. The Maryland school system sure is big isn’t it.

8 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

Hahaha, poor Carbon Trading.

“True, sisters who actively do that stuff are in the minority (as are brothers!), but I would imagine that a woman who likes you would be willing to give something you enjoy a shot.”

I think you may have misunderstood my point here. I was referring to my ability to meet black women while pursuing my hobbies, not engage them in my hobbies once we’ve already met. You’re as likely to spot a black girl on a mountain biking trail as you are to spot two Indians…anywhere. That is to say it’s possible, but not likely.

“How many brothers go to plays or jazz concerts without a woman’s cajoling?”

Me. I saw ‘No Child Left Behind’ and ‘Death of a Salesman’ all by my lonesome (I will never, however, see a movie on my own – and I have no idea why I draw a distinction between film and theater. I digress). The theatres were full of white people. I was very tempted to commit manly suicide.

I am also a Sunday regular at Bohemian Caverns, U-topia, Bossa, and the Smithsonian Jazz Theater. Granted I’m in these venues to listen to jazz and relax after working myself half to death Monday – Saturday, and tend not to be in the mood to chat up women of any race on my one happy day off…so I suppose that part is indeed my own fault.

“Why on earth would a woman want a “Baller/”True Player” types – by observation/definition/even stereotype, doesn’t that just scream his sleep number is too high (not talking about mattress firmness here) and he prolly has baby mamas spread out all over the count(r)y.”

If women didn’t go for these guys, they’d be out of business, so to speak. But they’re not out of business because their BS is successful often enough to warrant continuing it ad infinitum. Why do many women go for it? Who knows. Maybe it’s the same reason fat dudes sit on the couch saying stuff like “well, Angela Bassett, she not all THAT hot”: utterly inexplicable stupidity.

Countless scientific studies have shown that women are naturally attracted to outlaw/badboy types (of which ‘ballers’ are a subset) even in spite of themselves, and that doesn’t just apply to black women. An equal number of studies show that men are attracted to women who are ‘touched in the head’. I’m going to draw the conclusion that we assume sex will be better with crazy girls and outlaw guys, and that’s why we go for them. I base this conclusion on absolutely nothing.

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

In regards to solar panel write offs: With the federal government, you are going to get a $2,000 tax credit, a figure that is subtracted from the amount of tax you owe the IRS at the end of the year. Some states handle it differently. The only trick is… installing the panels, which can cost around 15 grand or more.

8 04 2008
Anmarie

Hahaha, poor carbon trading and black people issues…

AF you like Jean Luc too!?! LOL

8 04 2008
Lady

$2,000?! That’s it.. wow.. seems like a jip to me. I would see how much it costs to make it so my car runs off of burger joint grease and see where I’d come out on top and choose one..

8 04 2008
Machete

“An equal number of studies show that men are attracted to women who are ‘touched in the head’. I’m going to draw the conclusion that we assume sex will be better with crazy girls ”

Hahaha I had a few male friends admit to that being absolutely true. They then lamented on the fact that try as they might they could not hang on to these girls because they were psycho!

8 04 2008
Anmarie

Being a psycho, I must admitt it’s true 😛

8 04 2008
hateblkmen

Im here to respond to Businesswoman (my fav commentator) –

My number one reason for hating black men the day i made up my name was as follows- they have chicken legs…it irks me.
If yo’ patna’ doesnt sport the “curls that get the girls” the hairstyle of choice in LA and has thick soccer playing legs…im DOWN…4 some1 to make it rain….the drought has been CRUCIAL.

2. How im getting along in Lala land w out a car- i wouldnt exactly call it living, i’ve become a hermit of sorts…dreaming of returning north or to the capital of greasy scalps and stiff presses…where public trans holds no FRIGGIN stigma…

@ Admiral Furious- WAN WAN WAN. “yet there is no acknowledgment of the black man’s struggle” …you came thru at the end of ur dissertation however.

8 04 2008
letinstar

i ride public transportation to work and to get around and i hate it…i miss my car…what’s worse is i hate apologizing for that..i recycle as much as i can…i also like npr…sue me…lol

8 04 2008
Cause Problems

Naaa see bring dis shit back to da ol days. Man the head o da house n shit! Bump al deez Opra lovin Docta Phil Suess Motha Goose ridaz! Fuck complainin come ta MY HOUSE!

Ima low life gutta Nigga you know how I roll.

8 04 2008
Sister Toldja

@ Chris- How many brothers do you spot on these trails? Just curious.

Now, if I were presented with a good brother who didn’t go to jazz concerts and a good White guy who did….I would still choose the brother, because there are other things that are more important to me that have to do with race and understanding in a relationship. Am I in the minority here? Would others prefer to have a partner who is totally in line with their lifestyle than one who can understand and appreciate their struggle and cultural point of reference?

8 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

“How many brothers do you spot on these trails? Just curious.”

Zero, but I’m not looking for men. I’m not faulting the black women who aren’t into the same stuff I’m in – I’m just saying they aren’t. There’s no good or bad about it.

8 04 2008
Cola

@ Sister Toldja you are not in the minority.

8 04 2008
Esquire

@ Sista Toldja:
Girl I had some terrible standards!! I will AGREE with you on that lol. Very shallow…I wanted a tall CHOCOLATE brotha like my daddy. The occupation wasnt that important as long as we could go out every once in a while. I wasted a lot of time on guys who fit that category which were mostly athletes or someone with a mouth like Flava Flav. (yes, I did perfer the gold teeth). But that was my stupidity to go to that extreme, which Im not sure if a lot of us do.

What I DO know is that there are some “regular” black men that get passed over, sometimes not even consciously, for being too short, too broke, or just too regular. Women should be more open minded and stop trying to date a man like 50 cent or Osi Umenyiora (sexxxy…couldnt help it).

Aint nothing wrong with a “regular” dude who doesnt know what Ed Hardy is, but he works hard and has some respect. A lot of the time my girlfriends are like…my man GOTS to be making as much as me. I dont think thats fair.

Im just glad you are still keeping hope alive and weeding out the brothas full of shit. We as black women just have to hold on. We are genetically built to just keep on keepin on even IF the brothas dont want to act right.

And Chris, thank you for allowing us to jack your Carbon posting and go extremely off topic. I love this blog.

8 04 2008
Esquire

@at Admiral

Im that girl you were talking about. Dating losers with nice cars complaining til I hit 25 and got a real man. lol

8 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Word up…

There are tax benefits to going green with quite a few things out there. If you have a hybrid car you get a tax benefit as well as you do with solar panels. In fact there is some new technology

http://greenchemistry.wordpress.com/2008/01/21/nanosolar-powersheet-the-paper-thin-solar-cell-that-could-change-the-world/

that probably will replace those bulky systems seen on houses today.

8 04 2008
Machete

Save a tree, eat a beaver.

9 04 2008
Anmarie

“eat a beaver.” I personally think this is the best thing man can do to make the world a better place.

heeheehee

9 04 2008
stuffblackpeoplehate

Thank God I’m not the only sick bastard here…

9 04 2008
Anmarie

Ha Ha you love it!

9 04 2008
Kara

Lady:

It’s true that some of the things you can do to convert your house are tax-deductible. I think Admiral Furious mentioned the tax deduction associated with purchasing a hybrid, which is quite nice.

However, a lot of the things mentioned on the show (such as replacing the washer and dryer with front-loaded machines and re-insulating your house with ripped up canvas from old jeans) are expensive and not particularly rewarded by the government, simply because they aren’t contemplated by the government. Other things, like taking your house off-grid, make fiscal sense in the long run but are expensive in the short run and are not rewarded by the government because they are, to some extent, against government interests.

Admiral Furious: I got so mad when I saw your link that I started spewing vitriol without considering if it would make you angry all over again. In the future, I will limit myself to “Wow that was offensive” 🙂

9 04 2008
Admiral Furious

Kara, are you speaking about the paper thin solar panels or the shit bag made by Lauren Bush?

26 09 2008
MJN

You guys need to understand some facts; Carbon dioxide is a clear odourless gas. It is in our atmosphere at concentrations of only 385 parts per MILLION (ppm). Carbon is necessary for food creation by plants and animals. Carbon dioxide levels should not DROP. At 375 ppm trees start dying.
Point; global warming has been rebranded to climate change. Why? We are now in a global cooling event.
Key Point; Carbon dioxide and the production of it is a fringe, farce, negligible part of our environment. You have been hoodwinked, ripped off, screwed. Edify yourself.

26 03 2009
Osi Umenyiora Autographed Jersey Owner

I am a Giants fan from Argentina. Very nice Giants information.
I miss the days of Lawrence Taylor and Phil Simms.
I hope to be in Chicago for a game this fall.

Leave a Reply

