To My Readers: Gone Fishin’ Till 3/13

7 03 2008

All,

I would like to extend our special thanks to everyone who’s been reading the blog so far. I’m taking a trip to Puerto Rico to calm my nerves, and will be returning on March 13th full of more hate than ever before. I will do my best to blog at least once or twice while I’m there, but I can’t make any promises.

misspuertorico.jpg

Figure 1: Refused to be my Valentine

Before I go, there’s one issue that I’ve been emailed a lot about – namely a lot of people have seen my disclaimer about this blog’s similarity to StuffWhitePeopleLike.org, and pretty much leave me alone about it. However, as most of you know, there is also a very popular site called ‘StuffEducatedBlackPeopleLike’ that people are accusing me of spinning off, since I don’t have a similar disclaimer for that site.

I’d just like to say, for the record, that if you look at the date of my first post and the date of SEBPL’s first post, you will see that my blog was actually written first – therefore, the reason I didn’t write a disclaimer for it is because I’m not a motherfucking psychic. This is not intended to discredit SEBPL (which I find to be a fairly amusing site, albeit less caustic than mine), nor is it intended to defend the originality of this blog. Rather, the intent is to get people to stop emailing me about this shit because my delete key is getting worn out.

SEBPL happens to be the more popular blog by far, maybe because it’s more focused, or maybe it more closely mirrors SWPL in subject and tone, or maybe it’s better written – I don’t know and I don’t care. For me, it’s not a friggin’ popularity contest – it’s about keeping me out of a looney bin and entertaining a few good humored folks (and enraging those who are less so) along the way.

So with that issue finally settled (I hope), thanks everyone for your kind words and comments, and for spreading the joyful hate of this website. I’ll be figuratively seeing you late next week.

-Chris

Actions

Information

11 responses

8 03 2008
shabooty

aint nothin to it, gangsta rap, made you do it.

8 03 2008
JustABlackDude

LOL…I’d be curious to see your views on Larry Elder.

8 03 2008
8 03 2008
blackbrownie

well i haven’t commented yet, but i really enjoy your site. reading stuff white people like made me realize that i’m white, realizing stuff educated black people like made me realize that i’m an educated black person, and now with your site, i realize i’m a hater. it’s so fun to be multi-dimensional!

enjoy your trip to PR, i’ll be looking forward to reading more when you return!
peace

9 03 2008
s1eepyboy

Umm have fun on ur fishing trip lol.

10 03 2008
Anners Scribonia

“… if you look at the date of my first post and the date of SEBPL’s first post, you will see that my blog was actually written first – therefore, the reason I didn’t write a disclaimer for it is because I’m not a motherfucking psychic.”

Hahaha!

Have a good trip.

11 03 2008
Educated

Leave Chris alone.

http://stuffEBPlike.com

13 03 2008
The Don

i started http://www.anythingblack.wordpress.com not knowing Stuffebplike was in existence to tell the truth 😦 oh well. imma start moving away from that style writing soon enough

15 03 2008
Michelle

Actually, I think that your blog is funnier than SEBPL. PLUS you don’t have all of the grammatical errors AND you use words that appeal to my educated black woman-ality.

3 04 2008
Mrs.Epps

Cool your going to my grandfathers homeland of puerto rico!. I havent been there since I was eleven..sighs..you should have taken me with you!! hahaha

11 04 2008
Kailani

This whole situation is SO absurd. Your post strikes as serious for you only. What can we do but make jokes about it?

Leave a Reply

